|The pineapple posts in front of Walsingham House.|
The beautiful home was built in 1915 for Jesse & Mary Walsingham, who lived there 15 years, The concrete and wood home was a rental at various times as evidenced by the separate second floor entrance. In 1984, the house escaped demolition when it was moved from Ridge Road to Heritage Village. It received extensive renovation including plumbing and wiring. The Pinellas County Medical Association donated its extensive collection of antique medical devices and furniture, and provided air conditioning to the home.
|Doctor's Waiting Room|
What you see today is an example of what a country doctor's office might have been like in 1928. The parlor is showcased by a display area for 40 examining and surgical tools that are similar to those in use today, except for the material used. There are forceps, clamps, retractors, speculas, scapula, dilator, catheter, saws, knives, snips, clamps, etc.
The upstairs is not available for tours. Downstairs, there is a large waiting area with a fainting couch, a doctor's office, a patient examination room, a laboratory, and a pharmacy. The rooms are complete with devices for measuring hearing, eyesight, blood pressure, etc. There is also a small collection of innovative devices that were proved quackery, but are interesting, nevertheless.
|Laboratory with instruments for testing|
|X-ray viewing machine|
|Apothecary supply cabinet with labels like pulv borax, amylum, kaolin, gentian, sulphur, bad anchusa, mustard ufs, cort cascar, emplastra (another word for dressings)|
|Old prescriptions, medicine bottles, scales, reference books|
|Tour guide showing a visitor how to use antique crutches|
|An optical trial kit for making glasses|
|Display case by the front entrance|
|List of medical instruments on display|